Universal Music Group (UMG) has now expanded the Dej Jam Brand into Africa


Following the creation of Def Jam South East Asia in September 2019, Universal Music Group (UMG) has now expanded the Def Jam brand into Africa, with the launch of Def Jam Africa.


The new label division will initially be based in Johannesburg, South Africa and Lagos, Nigeria, but will identify and sign hip-hop, Afrobeats and trap talent from across the entire continent.

Def Jam Africa will be supported by dedicated A&R, marketing, creative and digital teams from the UMG teams in both Nigeria and South Africa and will report to Sipho Dlamini, MD, Universal Music Sub-Saharan Africa & South Africa.

Larry Gaga

At launch, the label’s roster includes Boity (South Africa), Cassper Nyovest (South Africa), Larry Gaaga (Nigeria) Nadia Nakai (South Africa), Nasty C (South Africa), Tshego (South Africa), Tellaman (South Africa), Ricky Tyler (South Africa) and Vector (Nigeria). Earlier this year it was announced that South African rapper Nasty C will release his forthcoming album Zulu Man with Some Power in partnership with Def Jam Recordings in the US, during Summer, 2020.

Other forthcoming releases on Def Jam Africa include singles from: Ricky Tyler, Boity, Nasty C, Tellaman feat. Alpha P, Vector, Cassper Nyovest and Tshego.

NewLabel #UniversalMusicGroup #DefJaMAfrica #Africa #Purplesoftng💜

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Previous Post

COVID 19 RELIEF: Ikot Ibok village gifts hundreds of indigenes juicy palliative packages

Next Post

What You Need To Know About AGRIBLOOM

Related Posts
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x